Retirement Programs

  • Teachers Retirement System (TRS) - The Illinois General Assembly created Teachers’ Retirement System of the State of Illinois in 1939 for the purpose of providing retirement annuities, disability and survivor benefits for educators employed in public schools outside of the city of Chicago. All Naperville Community Unit School District 203 certified staff who are employed in a certified required position are automatically part of the Teacher Retirement System (TRS).

    TRS Button



    Illinois Municipal Retirement Fund (IMRF) - The Illinois Municipal Retirement Fund was created in 1939 by the Illinois General Assembly and began operating in 1941. Since 1941, IMRF has provided employees of local governments and school districts in Illinois (with the exception of the City of Chicago and Cook County) with a sound and efficient system for the payment of retirement, disability, and death benefits. All Naperville Community Unit School District 203 classified employees that work in a position that has an excess of 600 hours in a year are enrolled in the Illinois Municipal Retirement Fund (IMRF).

    Currently, the Employee contributes 4.5% of their gross pay to the fund and the District contributes 11% of the employee’s gross pay to the fund.

    Public Act 101-504

    IMRF Button