Those Who Excel District Awards 2017

  • Those Who Excel is a state-wide program conducted by the Illinois State Board of Education. By nominating people for recognition, public attention is called to some of our outstanding staff members, volunteers, and community members to show these exemplary people how much their efforts are valued and appreciated.

    2017 Awards

    Proud to Be 203: Tim Wierenga, Assistant Superintendent for Assessment and Analytics
    Rebecca Smith-Andoh Memorial Award: Ebony Baker (School Counselor, NNHS)
    Arlo Schilling First Year Teacher Award: Jessica Nylen (Fifth Grade Teacher, Maplebrook Elementary) 


    2017 "Those Who Excel" All-Star Team:

    Classroom Teacher: Reyna Nungaray (First Grade Teacher, Elmwood Elementary)
    Community/School Board: Kandice Henning (Alive Center Director, NNHS)
    Educational Support Personnel: Sophia Lewis (Applications Manager, Administration Center)
    Outstanding Early Educator: Samantha Sheley (First Grade Teacher, River Woods Elementary)
    School Administrator/Principal: Sue Salness (Principal, Ranch View Elementary)
    Student Support Personnel: Stephanie Jurkiw (Social Worker, Highlands Elementary)
    Team: Washington Jr. High Strategic Team, Laura Atseff, Maria DiNovo, Kerry Niederman 
    The “Those Who Excel” All-Star Team will go on to represent Naperville 203 at the statewide awards this fall.  #D203Awards #WeAre203

    District 203 Awards Celebration

    The District 203 Awards Celebration Program lists the most recent award nominees and winners in all categories who were honored at the annual District 203 Awards Celebration in April.