World and Classical Languages

  • World and Classical Languages Department Philosophy

    We believe that language and communication are at the heart of the human experience.  They allow us to relate meaningfully with one another.  The goals of our instruction of world and classical languages department are to enable students to communicate effectively in the second language, to understand the cultures that support the language, to see connections between language study and other disciplines, and to appreciate what it means to be college-, career-, and world ready.

    The world and classical languages classroom will provide an environment conducive to a successful language experience.  A rich variety of standards- based strategies and resources will be utilized so that all students can experience both acquisition and learning. Instruction will include realistic and meaningful learning opportunities which provide challenging, engaging, and authentic activities that promote increased proficiency in listening, speaking, reading and writing in the target language.

    As a result of our curriculum, instruction, and learning environment, District 203 students in world and classical languages will experience the utility and beauty of the language they study.  They will recognize the benefits of reflection and continued learning. At each level, students will have the opportunity to develop increased proficiency in the target language and a deeper insight into their own language, while growing in their respect for the cultures and beliefs of others.

WCL Department Photo

  •  
    WCL Department Photo  
     
    Front Row (L-R):  Ed Joyce, Barb Watson, Dave Davis, Ellen Spitalli, Deniece Zinnecker, Ellen Hanson, Piling Chiu, Mary Warren, Tiffany Swanson
    Row 2:  Kathleen Gasser, Ignacio Gamboa, Jeremy Whitt, Mike Kralovic, Drew Schultz, Stacy Cunningham, Jennie Franta, Eric Kaisling
    Not pictured:  Elise Katter, Mike Ortiz

World & Classical Languages Staff Directory

First Name Last Name Position Phone 1(630)- Email
Piling Chiu Chinese Instructor 420-2314 pchiu@naperville203.org
Stacy Cunningham Latin Instructor 778-3126 scunningham@naperville203.org
David Davis Spanish Instructor 778-3111 ddavis@naperville203.org
Jennie Franta Spanish Instructor 778-3115 jfranta@naperville203.org
Ignacio Gamboa Instructional Coordinator 420-6813 igamboa@naperville203.org
Kathleen Gasser Spanish Instructor 778-3119 kgasser@naperville203.org
Ellen Hanson Spanish Instructor elhanson1@naperville203.org
Ed Joyce Latin Instructor ejoyce@naperville203.org
Eric Kaisling Spanish Instructor 778-3127 ekaisling@naperville203.org
Elise Katter Spanish Instructor 778-3139 ekatter@naperville203.org
Michael Kralovic Chinese Instructor mkravolic@naperville203.org
Michael Ortiz Spanish Instructor 369-5255 mortiz@naperville203.org
Andrew Schultz German Instructor 717-4415 ajschultz@naperville203.org
Ellen Spitalli Spanish Instructor 778-3143 espitalli@naperville203.org
Tiffany Swanson Secretary 420-6452 tswanson@naperville203.org
Mary Warren Spanish Instructor 848-5387 mwarren@naperville203.org
Barb Watson Spanish Instructor 369-2160 bwatson@naperville203.org
Jeremy Whitt French Instructor 778-3150 jwhitt@naperville203.org
Deniece Zinnecker French Instructor 778-3152 dzinnecker@naperville203.org
  • WCL wordle

IL Seal of Biliteracy

  •  State Seal of Biliteracy

    Illinois State Seal of Biliteracy and Commendation toward Biliteracy

    The State Seal of Biliteracy is a recognition given to graduating high school students who have demonstrated a high level of proficiency in English and in reading, writing, listening and speaking in another language.  The Seal is affixed to the diploma and designated on the transcript.

    Click here for more information.
     
    Click here for the information session notes.
     
     
    Seniors can apply here.  Please be sure to be logged in to your Naperville203 Google account to access this form.