Summer School Driver Ed
District 203 Summer Driver Education program will begin on June 4, 2018 and end on July 18, 2018. In order to participate in the summer program you must be 15 years old before or on June 4, 2018.
In order to attain the maximum amount of driving time during summer school, the classroom instruction for the permit examination will be offered early. On May 7, 8, 9, and 10, students will have classes from 7:15 A.M. to 7:40 A.M. each day. NCHS students will have class at NCHS in Room B16. NNHS students will have class at NNHS in Room 198. Students must attend all four days. If a student cannot attend on a particular day, he or she must contact Mr. Leaf.
Students who do not attend NCHS or NNHS or who are unable to attend these sessions must meet with Mr. Leaf the first day of summer school to obtain a DMV application and signature. Therefore, the student on their own time will be expected to go to the Secretary of State the first day of class to obtain their permit.
NEEDED IN ORDER TO TAKE DRIVER EDUCATION
1. Student must be 15 years old before or on June 4, 2018.
2. A $20 check, payable to Secretary of State, to be brought on May 10.
3. A Social Security number. If the student does not have one, apply for one immediately. All students will need a Social Security number in order to obtain a driver’s license.
4. Online payment or a check for $300 payable to Naperville School District 203. Payment is due at registration. (A penalty charge of $25.00 will be assessed for each returned check.)
Students will participate in classroom, simulation, and behind-the-wheel during the 140 minute blocks. Therefore a student needs to register for the 7:30am – 9:50am session or the 10:00 – 12:20 session.
The Driver Education program consists of three phases: classroom, simulation, and behind-the-wheel. The three phases will be taught within the 7:30 – 9:50 session or the 10:00 – 12:20 session over the six weeks. Students will register for this course just as they register for any other Summer School Course. The student must be at least 15 years old before or on June 4th (the first day of class) for the student will have behind the wheel on the first day.
Classroom Phase: The classroom instruction will be part of the 6 week course. The State of Illinois requires a minimum of 30 clock hours of instruction.
Simulation Phase: Student must successfully complete 12 hours of simulation as part of the lab portion of Driver Education in order to meet the State of Illinois requirement. Simulation offers the student the opportunity to experience a variety of situations in a controlled environment.
Behind-The-Wheel: The student must successfully complete at least 3 hours of Behind-The-Wheel observation in order to meet the State of Illinois requirement. Each student must spend an additional 50 hours of behind-the-wheel experience outside of the Summer School hours with a parent or guardian in order to meet the State of Illinois requirement for licensing.
Summer school driver's education, just like all summer school classes, occurs at an accelerated rate. Please take that into consideration when deciding if driver's ed over the summer is the right fit for your child's needs.
Questions specific to Summer School Driver's Education can be directed to Tony Leaf at firstname.lastname@example.org or 630-961-2941.