Driver Ed Info Center
What to bring to the DMV:
- Licensing Procedure Information
(click here for checklist)
New Illinois Driving Laws
Secretary of State website explaining full program for obtaining a graduated driver license; lists most current changes in laws affecting young drivers.
- Effective January 1, 2008 - New GDL Laws
Summary of Teen Driver Safety Legislation (Senate Bill 172)
- Effective July 1, 2007 - "School Truant & License Sanctions"
Amends the Illinois Vehicle Code and School Code. Provides, with certain exceptions, for the cancellation of or refusal to issue a driver's license or permit for failure of an unmarried person under 18 years of age to maintain school attendance.
- Effective July 22, 2006 - "Hours Behind the Wheel"
Provides that a parent or guardian must certify that an un-emancipated minor has received 50 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction, at least 10 hours of which must have been at night, in order for the minor to receive a graduated driver's license. Effective immediately.
- Effective January 1, 2006 - "Safety Belts"
Each driver under the age of 18 years and each of the driver's passengers under the age of 19 years (increased from 18) shall wear a safety belt.
All Certificates of Completion (Blue Slips) will be issued and conducted online. (Have your permit number ready in order to determine if you are ready for licensing.