Book Lists

  • The Monarch Award
    The Monarch Award is administered by the Illinois School Library Media Association (ISLMA).  It was established in 2003 and is open to all kindergarten through third grade children in Illinois.  The name was chosen to symbolize the growth, change and freedom that becoming a reader brings.  The Monarch Award is designed to encourage children to read critically and become familiar with children's books, authors and illustrators.
    The Bluestem Award
    The Bluestem Award is administered by the Illinois School Library Media Association (ISLMA).  It is designed for students in grades 3-5 who are ready for longer titles than those on the Monarch list, but are perhaps not ready for the level of some of the Rebecca Caudill books.  This award is named in honor of the Big Bluestem native Illinois prairie grass and includes both timeless classics and current titles.  It may also include books that have appeared on the Monarch and Rebecca Caudill book lists.
    Battle of the Books
    Battle of the Books at Elmwood is a voluntary reading program for students in grades 4 & 5.  The purpose is to encourage students to read a variety of authors and genres and have fun while competing with peers. Anderson's Bookshop, the Naperville Public Library, and a steering committee of District 203 educators work together to select the books.
    The Caldecott Medal
    The Caldecott Medal has been awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, since 1938. It is awarded to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.
    The Newbery Medal Award
    The Newbery Award is administered by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC).  It is awarded annually to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.  The book must be published in English by an American publisher in the United States during the preceding year.  The book must be original work and the author must be a citizen or resident of the United States.
    The Rebecca Caudill Young Readers' Book Award
    The Rebecca Caudill Award is supported by the Illinois Association of Teachers of English, the Illinois Reading Council and ISLMA.  It is an annual award that is given to the author of a book that is voted most outstanding by students in grades 4-8 in participating Illinois schools.  It is named for Rebecca Caudill who lived and wrote in Urbana, Illinois.