The Game of Chess

    Set it up!: Each player has 6 different types of chess pieces: there are 8 pawns, 2 rooks, 2 knights, 2 bishops, 1 queen, and 1 king. The pawns are the smallest pieces, and you will recognize them because there are eight of them. The rooks look like tiny little castles with jagged edges along the top. The knights look like horse heads. The bishops are the ones with balls on the top . The king is the tallest piece and has a cross on top. The last piece is the queen, which is the 2nd tallest piece and has a small crown around the top.

    Objective: The object of the game is to put the king in a position in which he becomes captured. Also known as the phrase, "Checkmate".

    Moving: Pawns can move two spaces forward if its the first time you are moving them, and one space at any other time. To take a piece with a pawn it moves diagonally one space to the left or right. Pawns cannot move backwards.
    The knights can only move in an "L" shape.

    The bishop can move diagonally in any direction and as far as they would like.

    The rooks can only move in a straight line as far as they want but cannot move diagonally.

    The king can move in any direction but only one space.

    And the queen can move in any direction as far as she wants.

    Castling: In castling, the king moves two squares closer to the chosen rook, and then the rook jumps over the king and onto the square jumped by the king.

    How to win: Only one piece can be moved per turn, except when castling. You must warn your opponent when you put his king in danger by saying, "Check." Then he or she must move his king out of check or block the attack with another piece. If he cannot, they are in checkmate, and the game ends. A game also can end if a player cannot move on turn without endangering his king or because of lack of space.