Return to Headlines

Students Announced as National Merit Semi-Finalists

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) announced approximately 16,000 Semifinalists in the 66th annual National Merit Scholarship Program, including 48 Naperville Community Unit School District 203 students. 

Naperville Central High School had 25 seniors named as Semifinalists, and Naperville North had 23. The students now have the opportunity to continue in the competition for 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $30 million that will be offered spring 2021.

Naperville Central: Thrisha Bandepallee, Nicholas Bird, Andrea Brewe, Alicia Chen, Aastha Chouhan, Elliott Clements, Michael Deng, Steven Desch, Dane Engman, Aiden Fockens, Arthur Graham, Braden Hajer, Maya Kathinokkula, Simeon Lee, Kate Li, Elizabeth Liu, William Ma, Amisha Sethi, Anna Sonnenschein, Paari Thanikachalam, David Wang, Ziyin Wang, Colin Yao, Brandon Zhang and Jasmine Zhang.

Naperville North: Luca Bolla, Skyler Kahng, Jubin Kim, Judson Lam, Maisie Li, David Mengel, Holden Mui, Alayna Nguyen, Owen O’Brien, Asha Rajagopal, Eron Ristich, Arjun Shah, Rachel Shi, Randall Shobert, Janelle Smith, Aditya Tolia, Katherine Watson, Wyatt Woker, Geoffrey Wu, Eva Yang, Rachel Yao, Irene Zhang and Emily Zhao.

To become a Finalist, the Semifinalist and his or her high school must submit a detailed scholarship application, in which they provide information about the Semifinalist’s academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, and honors and awards received.