Return to Headlines

Students Announced as National Merit Semifinalists

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) announced today the approximately 16,000 Semifinalists in the 65th annual National Merit Scholarship Program, including 48 Naperville Community Unit School District 203 students.

Naperville Central High School had 22 seniors named as Semifinalists, and Naperville North had 26. The students now have the opportunity to continue in the competition for 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth about $31 million that will be offered spring 2020.

The 22 students from Naperville Central are:
Abaida Aisikaer, William Ao, Navya Bellamkonda, Matias Bonta, Andre Emery, Hannah Fewkes, Rishabh Jain, Saachi Kumar, Joseph Li, Sean Li, Jason Lin, Kaitlin Peng, Jacquelyne Qi, Brandon Sommerfeld, Kathryn Southon, Sydney Stephens, Raymond Tong, Hannah Zhang, Mellissa Zhang, Kyle Zhao, Vivian Zhao, Mitchell Zhen.


The 28 seniors from Naperville North are: Kelly Chee, Eric Chen, Haley Cush, Anne Foley, Allen Gu, Helenna Gu, Jason Gu, Kasey Han, Kyra McKeska, Megan Melnikoff, Alyssa Noren, Sanjana Roy, Kevin Shi, Erin Spinner, Zehua Tan, Weirui Tong, Eric Wang, Kaitlyn Woods, Edward Wu, Zachary Xi, Neil Xu, Ann Zhao, Daniel Zhao, Brian Zheng, Kelly Zhou, Taylor Zhou.


Over 1.5 million juniors in about 21,000 high schools entered the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2018 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®), which served as an initial screen of program entrants. From the approximately 16,000 Semifinalists, about 15,000 are expected to advance to the Finalist level, and in February they will be notified of this designation. All National Merit Scholarship winners will be selected from this group of Finalists. Merit Scholar designees are selected on the basis of their skills, accomplishments, and potential for success in rigorous college studies, without regard to gender, race, ethnic origin, or religious preference.