Return to Headlines

Those Who Excel Awards

The Naperville 203 community joined together for a night of celebration at the Embassy Suites for the annual District Awards.  
More than 650 teachers, staff, and community volunteers were there to show their school spirit. 
This year’s keynote speaker was Lincoln Jr. High Social Studies teacher and 2016 Classroom Teacher of the Year Ed Casey. 
Nearly 250 Naperville 203 employees and community volunteers were honored at the annual event for their work and dedication to students. 
Congratulations to all our award nominees and recipients:
Proud to Be 203: Tim Wierenga, Assistant Superintendent for Assessment and Analytics
Rebecca Smith-Andoh Memorial Award: Ebony Baker (School Counselor, NNHS)
Arlo Schilling First Year Teacher Award: Jessica Nylen (Fifth Grade Teacher, Maplebrook Elementary) 
2017 "Those Who Excel" All-Star Team:
Classroom Teacher: Reyna Nungaray (First Grade Teacher, Elmwood Elementary)
Community/School Board: Kandice Henning (Alive Center Director, NNHS)
Educational Support Personnel: Sophia Lewis (Applications Manager, Administration Center)
Outstanding Early Educator: Samantha Sheley (First Grade Teacher, River Woods Elementary)
School Administrator/Principal: Sue Salness (Principal, Ranch View Elementary)
Student Support Personnel: Stephanie Jurkiw (Social Worker, Highlands Elementary)
Team: Washington Jr. High Strategic Team, Laura Atseff, Maria DiNovo, Kerry Niederman 
The “Those Who Excel” All-Star Team will go on to represent Naperville 203 at the statewide awards this fall.  #D203Awards #WeAre203